Right now I’m in the car with my boyfriend and parents headed to Alabama to spend New Years with some great family friends. As I’m sitting here with nothing better to do than write, it’s hard not to think back on this last year. I’ve hit some of the lowest lows, but also some of the highest highs.

I’ve learned that reality hits like a brick after high school. Yes, college is fun (well not Vol State, 10/10 do not recommend!!!), but you’ll learn real quick that the “oh yeah I don’t need to study” mindset comes back to bite you, and that $10 you could live off of for a week in high school will you buy you one meal from your college cafeteria. OH, and don’t even get me started on majors. When people would tell me the national average of times people change their major is 7, I would think you’re kidding, right? I just want to stick with one and get out with the least debt possible. Well here I am, about to start my second semester of sophomore year and I’ve changed my major 6 times, and STILL have no idea what I want to do. I say all this not to scare you, but to remind you – especially if you’re on the verge of graduating or in this part of your life currently – that it is okay. We are so young, and we’re not supposed to have everything figured out like society thinks we should at this age. I’ve changed my major 6 times. So what? I’m still graduating with an Associate’s Degree in May. Even if I wasn’t, that’s okay. It is my future, so if it takes a while to figure out then so be it, because it’s kind of a big deal.

On the contrary, a lot of good has come out of this year. Like this blog for example 😉 I’ve always been one to care so much of what people think of my appearance, my beliefs, my opinions, etc. I’m over that. For all of you out there, especially you girls, it is so important to have confidence, and believe in yourself. Who cares what people think about you? I know that is so cliché and overused, but true. I have held myself back from so many opportunities based solely on the fact that I didn’t think I was good enough. I am good enough. YOU are good enough. So that job you’ve been wanting to apply for? Do it. That school you’ve been dreaming about? Apply. That place you’ve been wanting to visit? Go. You’ll only regret the chances you didn’t take.

I watched Friends With Benefits for the first (yes first!!!) time last night and there’s a song that was repetitively referenced to in the movie that I just can’t seem to get out of my head – Closing Time by Semisonic. In it, it says “Every new beginning comes from some other beginnings end.” I think about this in regards to the New Year. It’s a new beginning, so embrace it.

Have a happy New Year! I wish you all the very best in 2017.

XO,

Alyssa

