100_1768
Before mask and Mario Badescu Kit
100_1779
AC Clear Treatment Mask
100_1781
After mask and kit

It’s important to take one or two nights a week to yourself to relax, and give yourself a mental break. I’ve been doing this for only about a month now, but can already tell a huge difference in my everyday life. I’m not only a lot less stressed, but also a lot happier of a person. I made last night one of my relaxation nights. Now I know what you’re thinking “really on a Saturday night?” Truth moment: I’m a grandma stuck in a 19 year olds’ body. A fun night to me consists of lighting candles (got 2 last night for $3/each at Kroger), taking a bath while watching a romcom, trying out new face masks, and painting my nails.

Over the last couple days I’ve been cleaning out my things, and organizing since I start classes back next week and won’t have time for ANYTHING. A few days ago I filled two trash bags full of clothes I no longer wear – yes, I have a problem with hoarding clothes, but does that really surprise any of you? I mean I am a fashion blogger. Anyways, I started off my night last night by cleaning out my drawers in my bathroom, and trying my best to reorganize all my makeup and beauty products. I have two mini storage tubs under my sink, and to all my fellow organizational freaks, they are the best! I store all of my face masks, extra moisturizers, extra toners, etc., in one, and all hair products and extra makeup in the other. The only things I keep in the top drawer I use everyday are my hairbrush, face wash, toner, moisturizer, q-tips, and toothbrush.

Splish splash I was taking a bath… Too much? Baths are a necessity. In my life at least. My favorite way to take them is with epsom salt (pictured below.) I love Dr. Teal’s Relax & Relief. This one eases aches and pains, while relieving your mind as well. My mind is forever going 110 mph, so I will do anything to slow it down. An added plus of epsom salt is that it exfoliates your skin. Win-win.

100_1776

I am a connoisseur of face masks. I have oily/sensitive skin, so I really have to be certain when picking them. When I go to Ulta or Sephora, I always pick up a few on my way out just because it’s always great to have a few at home. Sheet masks are all the rave right now, so I decided to try one. I got the AC Clear Treatment mask, which you can get off Ulta’s website here. It had a 4.7/5 rating and great reviews. Tip: always read reviews, especially before buying beauty products! I tried it out last night. I kept it on for 20 minutes, and my face felt like a baby’s bottom when I took it off. I woke up this morning and the few pimples that I had come to a head overnight, and my face still felt extremely smooth. I will most definitely be buying this mask again!

100_1772

Now on to the review I’m sure most of you clicked on this blog post to read – the Mario Badescu Brightening kit. Here lately, I’ve really been getting into skin care. I’m only 19 and already have acne scars and discoloration on my face, from years of having acne and using tanning beds. Because of this, after reading the reviews I realized this kit would be a great try (plus it’s only $38!) A quote that I heard recently from one of my favorite makeup YouTubers went something like, “You only have one body, so treat it well.” This is easy to forget sometimes, but so important.

The Mario Badescu Brightening Kit includes:

  • Glycolic Foaming Cleanser (use 2-3 times per week)
  • Alpha Grapefruit Cleansing Lotion (use twice a day – day and night)
  • Vitmain C Serum (use 3-4 drops every other night)
  • Whitening Mask (use 1-2 times per week)
  • Glycol Skin Renewal Complex (use when skin is very dry, or you are experiencing rough dry patches)

I only used the first 3 products in this kit last night, so those are the ones I will be talking about. If you’re a fan of foaming cleansers, you will adored this one. It foams up so quickly, and a little went a long way. This cleanser is good for exfoliating the skin, that’s why it’s recommended to only use 2-3 times per week, as to not dry the skin out. The cleansing lotion, which is just a fancy name for toner, is great as well. I am used to really wet toners. This one is not, so it will take some getting used to, but I used it both last night and this morning and like how it doesn’t leave the face too wet. I have never used a serum, so I am very excited to use this one! Serums are great for producing even skin tones, and making pores appear smaller – Hallelujah! Although it’ll take a couple of weeks for me to see a real difference in my skin from using this kit, I really enjoyed it! I will make sure and keep you guys updated on the progress, so stay tuned!

Other products I used last night:

Comment below with your favorite “lazy night” products!


“Be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire.”

Xo,

Alyssa

