100_1811100_1797100_1798100_1812

It was 70 degrees today, so of course I put my favorite skirt on. To say I’m a little upset it’s this warm in January is an understatement, but I’m always one to be excited about getting to wear skirts and dresses, so I guess I can’t complain. This outfit has quickly become one of my favorites, and some of you fashion lovers are going to fall over dead when I tell you how cheap each piece was!

I’m not kidding you guys when I say I’ve been searching for a button skirt since last summer. I was very picky about how I wanted it to look and the price point. Most I found were anywhere between $40-$60. I know what some of you are thinking – “wow, that’s expensive to her?” It is when I’m a broke college student! Anyways, when it came to how I wanted it to look, I preferred a jean skirt that looked a little old school, so you can imagine the pure joy on my face when I spotted this one at H&M, and then the squeal that came shortly thereafter when I read the price tag stating it was $12. $12 people! I sometimes spend that much a day on coffee. Unashamedly, of course. It has been one of my favorite pieces of clothing ever since, and fits like a charm. You can find almost the exact one for a few bucks more here: Aiyig Women Girls High Waist A-Line Button-Front Denim Mini Skirt.

I. Adore. Shawls. A better word would be obsessed, but that’s a little excessive. They are a great add-on to any outfit, especially in the winter, because most of them will keep you warm and toasty also. Bet you’ll never guess where I got the one I’m wearing from, but if you’re an out of the box thinker and guessed Walmart… Ding, Ding, Ding! You’re correct. I used to never give the clothing section at Walmart the time of day, but I’m thankful I got over myself and did, because they have some of the cutest basic sweaters and shirts! Whenever I am in a hurry, or need a quick add-on for an outfit I always check Walmart first, because with their variety of colors and styles I’m bound to find something. Oh, and I almost forgot, it was a whopping 10 bucks. You can find a similar one, that also doubles as a scarf, here: SUHANG Womens Fashion Large Tartan Winter Scarves Wrap Shawl Gorgeous Dark Gray.

One of my favorite color trends that has come about recently is copper gold/yellow gold. I found the yellow gold sweater I’m wearing at Burkes Outlet for $7! I work in a town with one, so every week or two I like to go and see what cute stuff they’ve gotten in. For those of you who are not familiar with Burkes, it is similar to Ross and T.J. Maxx. They have amazing prices, and the clothes I have purchased from there are great quality (they have super fab shoes too!) Almost all of their shirts and sweaters are $20 or less, as well as their dresses, yet I still find a way to spend $50 or more in there every time I go, whoops. This particular sweater has a slouchy neck, and I purchased a size bigger than I usually wear so it would hang right on my shoulders the way it does. The material is somewhat thick, so it is great to wear on a cool day. You can find a chunkier, more basic one here: Women Sweater,Neartime Off Shoulder Chunky Knit Sweaters Knitted Oversize Baggy Pullover (M, Yellow).

Over the knee boots have become a fashion icon this season. You can find them just about anywhere. The ones I’m wearing are from Target. You’ll usually catch me wearing mostly black, but I figured it was time to start incorporating other colors in my wardrobe. Of course my next choice was another neutral. The specific brown color of these make them easy to wear with an outfit that brown usually wouldn’t go with. I purchased them on Black Friday when the entire store was 30% off (Regularly $45, bought for$31.) On a side note, this past year was the first year I went Black Friday Shopping, and it’s totally worth it! I saved hundreds of dollars. Although, I am an affordable fashion and beauty blogger and can’t resist sales, so I am be a little biased. Now that it’s getting closer to Spring, Target is running their boots up to 60% off, so if you’re in the market for some now’s your chance! The pair I have on is currently on Target’s website for $19.99. Find them here.

Additional accessories:

I hope everyone is having a great start to the New Year! I know I am, and that’s partly due to you taking the time to read this. Thank you for your support, and make sure to subscribe below if you like what you saw/read.


“Clothes aren’t going to change the world, the women who wear them will.”

-Anne Klein

Xo,

Alyssa

